The Founder's Award

The Founder's Award Introduced at the 1981 National Order of the Arrow Conference, the Founder's Award was created to honor and recognize those Arrowmen who have given outstanding service to their lodge. The award is reserved for an Arrowmen who demonstrates to fellow Arrowmen that he or she memorializes in his or her everyday life the spirit of achievement as described by founder E. Urner Goodman and cofounder Carroll A. Edson. The Award is a handsome bronze medallion bearing the likenesses of E. Urner Goodman and cofounder Carroll A. Edson, with wooden base and brass plate suitable for engraving. Also available is a special Founder's Award arrow ribbon, with a gold colored arrow suspended from a red ribbon. Lodges may petition the national Order of the Arrow Committee to present up to four awards annually, based on lodge membership. If the lodge presents more than one award, one must be to a youth under the age of 21. View Past Founder's Award Recipients HERE.

The Vigil Honor

The Vigil Honor is the highest honor that the Order of the Arrow can present its members for service to the lodge and council. It dates back to the year 1915, when OA's founder, E. Urner Goodman, became the first Vigil Honor member. Since then, thousands of members have been given this honor. Once an Arrowman has been Brotherhood for at least 2 years, he (or she, in the case of adults) may be considered for Vigil honor by the Lodge members. Generally, only 2% of the Arrowmen in a Lodge will achieve Vigil in any year. It is a high mark of distinction and recognition reserved for those Arrowmen who have given exceptional service, helping others beyond the call of duty involving personal effort and unselfish interest to one or more of the following: their lodge, the Order of the Arrow, their Council, Scouting, or their Scout camp. Under no circumstances should tenure in Scouting or the Order of the Arrow be considered as ample reason for a Vigil Honor recommendation. Alertness to the needs of others is the mark of the Vigil Honor. This calls for an unusual awareness of the possibilities within each situation. Vigil Honor members have a time-honored tradition to uphold. As leaders, they must conduct themselves in accordance with the ideals of Scouting and the Order of the Arrow. View Vigil Honor Award recipients HERE.

Ralph E. Grier Chapter Award

The Ralph E. Grier Chapter Award is based on a chapter's efficiency in a variety of areas. Topics taken into consideration include camp promotion, unit elections, chapter attendance at lodge functions, chapter meetings, chapter representation at lodge Executive Committee Meetings, chapter-wide competitions (i.e. ceremonies), chapter service, chapter Brotherhood conversion, special chapter activities, and chapter spirit. View Ralph E Grier Chapter Award Recipients HERE.

Charles Youngblood Service Award

Charles Youngblood Service Award The Charles Youngblood Service Award is given annually to the chapter that has conducted the most service throughout the lodge year. The total number of service hours given are computed by the numbers shown on the monthly chapter report forms divided by the total dues paid members in the chapter at the end of the year. View Charles Youngblood Service Award Recipients HERE.

Lodge Chief


Kevin Tidwell